St Pete’s and melting clocks

My men on the giant beach chairs

Been a little while since I posted – life has been a little busy lately –  but we did get to take a few days away for a quick family vacation last week.

St Pete’s Beach is just a couple hours away from us and there was a little retro beach resort I had wanted to try called Posctcard Inn. So I called them up and booked 4 days with them after discovering they were indeed dog friendly. We packed up two of our 4 critters – the well behaved ones (4 dogs in a hotel is just not doable not if you want to maintain your sanity)

 

On arrival I was delighted to find the hotel every bit as cute and quirky as I had hoped – the rooms and the styling of the whole place was causal, 60’s surfer chic –  I loved it!

However, I was much less delighted to discover that apparently the cast of Girls Gone WIld – Spring Break Madness spend their off time here…. I have never seen so many stripper heels with bikinis and tramp stamps alongside falling over drunken frat boys congregated in one place.

Sunshine Skyway Bridge – too scared to take pictures of the tramp stamps

We consoled ourselves with the notion that it was a sunny Sat on the beach – school was out and maybe the next day things would quiet down and sure enough after a noisy evening, the next morning was peaceful and quiet – of course the partiers were likely sleeping it off till noon.

We spent the morning on the beach – picked up a few nice shells – read my Kindle – got a little sun – had a couple beach cocktails – all seemed perfect…. till we headed back up to cool down and were greeted by a 50ft inflatable of Captain Morgan! *Facepalm*

Captain Morgan – Harbinger of doom

I knew we were doomed. They were in full party set up mode complete with DJ stage and pop up bars all over the place – we had to fight our way back to the room through the crowds. Sunday night was apparently Captain Morgan All You Can Drink Pool Party Night – who knew?  Well, all of the afore mentioned tramp stamps and frat boys did and they brought all their friends and distant acquaintances….

Don’t get me wrong – having a few cocktails at the beach bar on vacation is my idea of fun too – but I am (sadly) not 22 anymore and MTV Beach Party was never my style – even worse when you have your 15 year old with you. “Hey honey – this is what I don’t want you to do ever – or you are grounded till you are 30!” My God I sound like somebody’s aged mother LOL

Tired Grumpy Hotel Puppies

The party went on till 3am and amidst complaint calls to front desk I spent most of the evening hiding in our room searching for an alternate hotel. I was finally saved by a Hilton – not on the beach but inland close to the Dali museum that we were planning to visit anyway.

So next morning we packed up our tired crew and unloaded at the HIlton – not so stylish but mercifully quiet with a nice pool and we headed out to the Dali Museum.

 

 

I have been wanting to visit since I moved to Florida – they have the largest collection of his work outside of Spain and although I am not a huge fan of Surrealism, as a designer I always enjoy a good art museum.

Dali Museum

The Dali Museum did not disappoint – what a fantastic building in a great setting on the waterfront. Very modern, box like structure with natural stone accents and some organic glass billowing out.

 

 

 

Helix Staircase in Dali Museum

The interior is centered around a soaring helix staircase with great views and of course several galleries of Salvador Dali’s work.

View from staircase

We picked up some souvenirs in the obligatory gift shop and headed outside to the gardens which were really lovely – modern and almost zen like but with a little color and natural chaos thrown in.

Melting clock with mustache sculpture in background

No self respecting Dali museum could be without a melting clock – believe me it was hot enough to melt clocks – we were dying out there but wanted to be sure to see everything. I made everyone pose with the iconic Dali mustache sculpture and we walked though the “labyrinth” which was a little disappointing since it was really more like a spiral path – if you have no choices to make on which direction to take when walking through, then you can’t really consider it a labyrinth or maze IMHO

Adding to the collection

My favorite element of the garden was the wishing tree – you are supposed to tie your wishes to it and everyone seems to use their wristbands from the museum. I loved seeing all the fluttering colors moving in the breeze so we added ours.

Wishing Tree

There is something sweet and touching about adding to a living, growing collection of dreams and wishes – even if it is just proof of a shared experience.

The next day we drove to Busch Gardens to try their latest roller coaster Cheetah Hunt – it was a blast – really fast and fun. They actually have a lot of great rides and seeing the animals up close is fantastic. I particularly love the tiger enclosure.

Dear God somebody save me from this heat! said the Meerkat

It was ungodly hot  – 95 degrees and about 90% humidity so were were exhausted and sweaty in no time – not even the water rides could provide much releif and whatever effort I had made around hair and make up were quickly rendered futile

Clever Snow Tiger

Even the animals were conserving their energy – mostly lazing around in the shade or laying in the water like this smart snow tiger

Peacock Display

Eventually we had had enough of the heat, but since we had taken advantage of the Florida Resident Deal we can come back as often as we like till the end of the year for free (Seaworld too which is much closer to us and also a fun park)

Feeding the birds

Before we left we wandered through the aviary and got to feed the birds which put a smile on everyones face.

Happy Teen

Our vacation may have had a bumpy start but it all worked out in the end 🙂

2 thoughts on “St Pete’s and melting clocks

  1. Ok… did I not push ‘post comment’ or did I get edited… maybe it’s jet lag delirium thinking I commented here- it was like 2 days ago.
    I think I said… what a funny weekend! To start a post with the Capt Morgan blow up doll and finish with the Dali museum heliz staircase… wonderful. It sounds like it was a good getaway in the end with some fun and bonding time. And enough time to rub out the scene of party central from the teen’s mind! I loved the wishing tree and gorgeous exotic animals. Am glad to virtually see you… funny how I noticed myself missing your presence the last few weeks. Was almost going to shoot you a mail!

    • I would never edit you Wendy LOL – I think your jet lag must have been the culprit
      It was certainly a weekend to remember but snow tigers and roller coasters made it all better!
      I feel warm and fuzzy that you missed me – I have been underwater recently and am just now coming up for air – in fact I have a blog post brewing in my head about making more time for things…
      Shoot me a mail anytime – always good to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

