Xbox Memories

Over the past couple days there has been a flood of old friends and colleagues celebrating the 10th birthday of Xbox. Seems hard to believe it has been so long….

Read the article here that started all this nostalgia

As a designer I was never interested in working at Microsoft – Windows, Office none of that flicked my switches – so although Microsoft was one of the biggest employers in the Seattle area, I was much happier making games for companies like EA and Looking Glass.

When my son was around 3 years old I started freelancing so I could spend more time with him. Then one fateful day I got a call from my rep saying she thought she had the perfect job for me…

As it turned out the rumors of Microsoft getting into the game console business were true….I interviewed for a UI design position – they needed someone with both UI and 3D Max experience –  and on the drive home I got the call to say I had gotten the job

On my first day I was so excited I backed out of the garage and knocked my mirror almost clean off the car!! Never done that before or since – I had to duck tape it back on – very smooth…

As it turned out, then next 8 and a half years were filled with highs and lows both professionally and personally. I divorced, then met and married the love of my life –  I made close personal friends that despite the distance are still my favorite people in the world –  I worked on amazing projects and built an internal design studio that at it’s peak was 43 people strong – I collaborated with creative and talented professionals both internally and externally and I am hugely proud of what we accomplished.

I can say, without a doubt, that Xbox 360 was the high point of my time at Microsoft.

So Happy Birthday Xbox and my congrats to my Xbox family (you all know who you are)

Leave a Reply

