Hello world- It’s too damn early!!!

Full moon setting not the sun rising

So my 14 year old son just started high school  – don’t get me started on how old that makes me – and to our mutual horror high school in Central Florida starts early – way early! In order to be at the bus stop on time he has to be up at 5.30am – yes I said AM – that is practically the night before if you ask me. I have been to parties that went later than that…

Of course that means I also have to get up at 5.30am, which is clearly cruel and unusual punishment since I already survived school and should no longer have to bend to the educational system’s evil will

Of course being a typical parent I tell my son he has it easy – when I was his age I walked 5 miles to school uphill both ways in the snow etc etc. Being smarter than the average kid he clearly does not believe me and pays no attention to my fascinating tales of schoollife in the middle ages in Ireland

In an effort to make the most of this situation I thought it would be a great idea to take the dogs out for a walk before it gets hot – get some exercise – start the day out right – turn myself into one of those morning people or something. I am not sure what made me think this was a good idea

My sweet husband agreed to join me so this week after getting up at 5.30am we take a couple of our clearly confused dogs out while it is still dark and walk briskly round the neighborhood for 30 or 40 minutes – carefully avoiding the bus stop so we don’t embarrass our 14 year old – hopefully my parent of the year award is in the mail for being so understanding of a teenager’s needs.

Sunrise - I know it's blurry consider how early I was awake

It is a slightly surreal experience –  for one thing I saw a live armadillo – usually they are already roadkill  -but apparently pre dawn they are safe to move around without fear of being hit by a car since everyone else quite sensibly is still in bed

I also get to see the sun rise and yesterday the full moon setting, which was really pretty and since it is quiet my husband, Eric and I get to talk about nothing in particular but it feels good to find the time to do that – perhaps I can turn myself into a morning person after all….

Leave a Reply

